

Grand Junction Regional Airport Authority Board Regular Board Meeting Meeting Minutes January 17, 2023

REGULAR BOARD MEETING

I. Call to Order

Mr. Tom Benton, Board Chairman, called the Meeting of the Grand Junction Regional Airport Authority Board to order at 11:30 AM on January 17, 2023 in Grand Junction, Colorado and in the County of Mesa. The meeting was hosted in the 3rd floor conference room as well as electronically.

Commissioners Present:	<u>Guests:</u>
Tom Benton (Chairman)	Jeremy Lee, Mead and Hunt
Clay Tufly (Vice Chairman)	Brad Rolf, Mead and Hunt
Ron Velarde	Colin Bible, Garver
Thaddeus Shrader	Travis Boyd, GJRAA
Linde Marshall	Shawn Stratton, GJRAA
	Fred Suevel, CAF
Airport Staff:	Kent Taylor, CAF
Angela Padalecki (Executive Director)	
Dan Reimer (Counsel)	
Dylan Heberlein	
Shelagh Flesch	
Ben Peck	
Cameron Reece (Clerk)	

II. Pledge of Allegiance

III. Approval of Agenda

Commissioner Shrader made a motion to approve the January 17, 2023 Board Agenda. Commissioner Tufly seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

IV. Commissioner Comments

Commissioner Tufly commented on a Grand Junction Airshow update. Blue Angel #7 flew in for their initial visit for the upcoming airshow on October 14th and 15th of 2023. Commissioner Tufly also commented that CAF will be flying their TBM at the airshow.

Commissioner Benton commented and thanked operations staff for keeping the airport running so smoothly.

Commissioner Marshall commented for her support of newly appointed Commissioner Reitz and that he will be an asset for the board.

V. Citizen Comments

No Citizen Comments were made

VI. Consent Agenda

A. December 13, 2022 Meeting Minutes

Approval of December 13, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes

Commissioner Tufly made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Commissioner Velarde seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

VII. Action

A. Resolution No. 2023-001 – Designating the Location for the Posting of Notice of Meetings for 2023

Adopt Resolution No. 2023-001 Designating the Location for the Posting of the Notice of Meetings in accordance with Colorado Revised Statute Section 24-6-402(2)(C) and Section 41-3-105(5)(a).

Commissioner Marshall made a motion to Adopt Resolution No. 2023-001 Designating the Location for the Posting of the Notice of Meetings in accordance with Colorado Revised Statute Section 24-6-402(2)(C) and Section 41-3-105(5)(a). Commissioner Shrader seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: Commissioner Shrader, yes; Commissioner Tufly, yes; Commissioner Benton, yes; Commissioner Velarde, yes; and Commissioner Marshall, yes. The motion carries.

B. 2023 Officer and Committee Appointments

Approval of 2023 Officer and Committee Appointments

Commissioner Marshall nominated Commissioner Benton as Chairman. Commissioner Shrader seconded the nomination. Commissioner Tufly made a motion for the chairman nominations to close. Commissioner Velarde seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries. Commissioner Tufly made a motion to elect Commissioner Benton as Chairman. Commissioner Marshall seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

Commissioner Velarde nominated Commissioner Tufly as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner Shrader seconded the nomination. Commissioner Marshall made a motion for the Vice-Chairman nominations to close. Commissioner Shrader seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion

carries. Commissioner Shrader made a motion to elect Commissioner Tufly as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner Velarde seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

Commissioners will nominate the Treasurer at the February 2023 Board meeting.

Commissioner Shrader nominated Cameron Reece as Clerk. Commissioner Velarde seconded the nomination. Commissioner Velarde made a motion for the Clerk nominations to close. Commissioner Tufly seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries. Commissioner Marshall made a motion to elect Cameron Reece as Clerk. Commissioner Shrader seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

Resulting 2023 Officers:

Chairman – Tom Benton Vice Chairman – Clay Tufly Treasurer – Nomination moved to February 21, 2023 Clerk – Cameron Reece

Commissioner Marshall made a motion to approve 2023 Officer appointments. Commissioner Velarde seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

2023 Committees:

Executive Committee - Tom Benton (Chair), Clay Tufly (Vice-Chair)

<u>Finance and Audit Committee</u> – Clay Tufly (Chair), Ron Velarde, Drew Armstrong, and Sarah Menge.

Commissioner Shrader made a motion to approve 2023 committee appointments. Commissioner Marshall seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

C. Resolution No. 2023-002 –Participation in the Colorado Local Government Liquid Asset Trust

Adopt Resolution No. 2023-002 Authorizing Participation in the Colorado Local Government Liquid Asset Trust (COLOTRUST).

Commissioner Tufly made a motion to Adopt Resolution No. 2023-002 Authorizing Participation in the Colorado Local Government Liquid Asset Trust (COLOTRUST). Commissioner Shrader seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: Commissioner Shrader, yes; Commissioner Tufly, yes; Commissioner Benton, yes; Commissioner Velarde, yes, and Commissioner Marshall, yes. The motion carries.

D. Recommendation of Award Runway 11/29 Replacement Engineer Select Mead & Hunt to provide Runway 11/29 Replacement Engineering Services and authorize Executive Director to execute a five-year agreement. Commissioner Marshall made a motion to select Mead & Hunt to provide Runway 11/29 Replacement Engineering Services and authorize Executive Director to execute a five-year agreement. Commissioner Velarde seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

E. Recommendation of Award Airport On-Call Engineering Services

Select Garver to provide Airport On-Call Engineering Services and authorize Executive Director to execute a five-year agreement with Garver.

Commissioner Velarde made a motion to select Garver to provide Airport On-Call Engineering Services and authorize Executive Director to execute a five-year agreement with Garver. Commissioner Tufly seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries.

F. 2023 Airport Improvement Program Supplemental Funding Grant Applications

Approve the two Airport Improvement Program Supplemental Funding grant applications and authorize the Executive Director to sign and submit the applications to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

Commissioner Shrader made a motion to Approve the two Airport Improvement Program Supplemental Funding grant applications and authorize the Executive Director to sign and submit the applications to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Commissioner Tufly seconded the motion. Voice Vote: All Ayes; motion carries

VIII. Staff Reports

- A. Executive Director Report (Angela Padalecki)
- B. Finance and Activity Report (Shelagh Flesch)
- C. Capital Improvement Plan Update (Colin Bible)

IX. Any other business which may come before the Board

X. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:57pm

Audio recording of the complete meeting can be found at <u>https://qjairport.com/Board_Meetings</u>

Tom Benton, Board Chairman

ATTEST:

Cameron Reece, Clerk to the Board