RESOLUTION NO. 88-94

CREATION OF THE GROWTH PLAN STEERING COMMITTEE AND APPOINTING MEMBERS THERETO.

WHEREAS, The City Council of the City of Grand Junction desires to create a Steering Committee to assist in the development of a Growth Plan for the City; and

WHEREAS, the City Council desires that the Growth Plan Steering Committee consist of a crosssection of the Grand Junction community;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, THAT

1. The Growth Plan Steering Committee is hereby created;

2. The charge and responsibility of the Growth Plan Steering Committee is to:

a. communicate the concerns of all interested community groups regarding the long range development of the City;

b. give representatives with differing viewpoints a forum for discussing these perspectives;

c. develop a statement of the community's vision and goals, with the assistance of the planning staff's technical analysis; and

d. assist in communication with the general community about this process;

3. The Growth Plan Steering Committee shall serve as an ad hoc committee until the completion of the Growth Plan project; and that

4. The following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Steering Committee:

Kathy Jordan (City at large, resident) Frank Simonetti, Jr. (northern downtown neighborhood) Brenn Luff (north area, City) Chuck Locke (east area, City) Harry Talbott (east area, outside City) Penny Heuscher (Orchard Mesa neighborhood, City) Norman Barnette (Redlands, City) Bob Scheevel (Redlands, outside City) Priscilla Studt (agricultural/ranching, outside City) Quentin Jones (arts/cultural, City) Doris Butler (Sierra Club) Dan Whalen (Grand Valley Air Quality Planning Committee) Mary Locke (Healthy Communities 2000) Zoe Rozga (Chamber of Commerce) Steve Witt/Randy Cook alternate (Homebuilders Association) Dale Beede (Board of Realtors) Kenneth Tomlon (Major Employer/St. Mary's Hospital)

Bruce Hill (Downtown Development Authority) Lou Grasso (School District #51) Donna Garlitz (Mesa County Special District Association) Ray Kieft (Mesa State College) John Elmer (Tom Volkman, alternate) (City Planning Commission) Don Campbell (Mesa County) Kirk Rider (Mesa County Economic Development Council)

ADOPTED this 5th day of October, 1994.

<u>/s/ R. T. Mantlo</u> President of the Council

Attest:

<u>/s/ Stephanie Nye</u> City Clerk