## **RESOLUTION NO. 31-99**

## A RESOLUTION PLACING ON THE BALLOT THE QUESTION OF AN INCREASE IN CITY COUNCIL COMPENSATION

Recitals.

At the February 17<sup>th</sup>, 1999, Council meeting Tilman Bishop, long-time public servant and retired state senator, suggested that the voters should be given the opportunity to increase the City Council members' compensation to be more in line with that of comparable Colorado cities. Grand Junction council members' salaries were last increased in 1987. The following chart compares Grand Junction's council members' monthly salaries to council members in comparable Colorado cities.

CITY	MAYOR	COUNCILMEMBER
Arvada	975	750
Broomfield	500	300
Englewood	700	600
Greeley	750	500
Littleton*	600	600
Longmont	700	500
Loveland*	600	400
Northglenn*	570	386
Thornton	1200	800
Westminister*	839	800
Wheatridge	1000	359
Grand Junction	250	200

\*Mayor *pro tempore* gets a little more than council members.

The City of Grand Junction's charter, §38, establishes the monthly salary for the mayor and council members. Only the city's electors may change such salary. The next municipal election date is April 6, 1999.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF GRAND JUNCTION:

1. The City Clerk shall place on the April 6, 1999 ballot the question of whether or not the salaries of the members of the City Council should be as follows:

President	\$750.00
Council member	\$500.00.

2. The question for the ballot shall read:

"SHALL ARTICLE II, SECTION 38 OF THE CITY CHARTER BE AMENDED TO READ:

38. Salaries. - At least two meetings of the City Council shall be held monthly at such times as may be fixed by the Council, such two meetings to be known as the regular meetings. All other meetings of the City Council shall be known as special meetings or adjournments. The President of the Council shall be paid a salary of \$750.00 per month and all other Council members shall each be paid a salary of \$500.00 per month..."

PASSED and ADOPTED this 3rd day of March, 1999.

Attest:

<u>/s/ Janet Terry</u> President of the Council

<u>/s/ Stephanie Nye</u> City Clerk