Grand Junction, Colorado

March 22, 1939

The City Council of the City of Grand Junction, Colorado met in regular adjourned session at 7:30 o'clock P. M. Councilmen present and answering at roll call were: Ross, Holcombe, Enstrom, Boston, Carson, Oates and President Groves. City Attorney Hinman and City Clerk Tomlinson were present. City Manager Soderstrum was absent.

Chief Scott and Bruce Brownson came before the Council and reported that they had investigated the charges made against Earl Van Gundy by residents of the South side of town. Chief Scott made a detailed report of conditions around Van Gundy's premises. After the report, the Council complimented the Chief on his report and told him they certainly appreciated his reporting to them.

The following election notice was presented:

ELECTION NOTICE

CITY OF GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO

NOTICE OF GENERAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION TO BE HELD ON TUESDAY, THE 4TH DAY OF APRIL, A. D. 1939.

PUBLIC NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT A GENERAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION WILL BE HELD ON TUESDAY, THE 4TH DAY OF APRIL, A. D. 1939, AT THE POLLING PLACES HEREINAFTER DESIGNATED IN THE CITY OF GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO.

That said General Municipal Election will be held at the several polling places in the several districts and voting precincts of the City of Grand Junction, in the State aforesaid, as follows:

District "A" - City Voting Precinct No. 9 - First Ward - Polling Place - City Hall

District "B" - City Voting Precinct No. 10 - Second Ward - Polling Place - Western Slope Garage.

District "C" - City Voting Precinct No. 11 - W. Third Ward - Polling Place - Y. M. C. A.

District "D" - City Voting Precinct No. 12 - Fourth Ward - Polling Place - Richard Warren Garage.

District "E" - City Voting Precinct No. 16 - E. Third Ward - Polling Place - High School Gymnasium

Upon the date and at the places designated aforesaid, the

polls will be open from the hour of 7 o'clock A. M. to and including and will be closed at the hour of 7 o'clock P. M. The ballots to be used in voting will be prepared and furnished by the City Clerk to the Judges of the election to be by them furnished to the voters. The election will be held and conducted as nearly as may be, in the manner prescribed by law, in the case of elections for municipal officers. Registration for the said election will take place in the manner now provided by law.

That at said election a member of the City Council will be elected from each of two election districts (i.e. Districts "B" and "C") and one member of the City Council will be elected from the City of Grand Junction at large, for regular four-year terms.

That the candidates who have been placed in nomination for Councilmen are as follows:

DISTRICT "B" - Chas. Luebbert
District "C" - T. J. Treece
City at Large - T. S. Campbell, Geo. W. Oates N. P. Peterson

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, The City Council of the City of Grand Junction has caused this notice to be published and posted as required by law and dated this 22nd day of March, A. D. 1939.

Helen C. Tomlinson City Clerk

It was moved by Councilman Carson and seconded by Councilman Holcombe that the City Clerk be instructed to publish and post the foregoing Notice in accordance with the laws of the City. Motion carried.

It was moved by Councilman Carson and seconded by Councilman Boston that the following be appointed to act as Judges and Clerks for the General Municipal election to be held April 4, 1939

DISTRICT "A"		
	RECEIVING BOARD	COUNTING BOARD
Judges	Mrs. Mary Wing	Mrs. Libbie Schmidt
	Mrs. Jennie Bear	Mrs. Mary Powers
	Mrs. Bertha Ward	Mrs. Roy Penny
Clerks	Mrs. Myrtle Friend	Mrs. Gladys Nylund

	<u> </u>		
	Mrs. Fern Garber	Mrs. Pauline Colescott	
DISTRICT "B"			
Judges	Gifford Fahrmeyer	Miss Marion Sisac	
	Mrs. Rosa B. Woody	H. T. Sherman	
	Mrs. Doris Garber	Mrs. T. E. McHugh	
		Mrs. Claire Sage	
Clerks	Mrs. Lucile Craft	Mrs. R. C. Hutton, Mrs. Hazel Lindenschmidt	
DISTRICT "C"			
Judges	Mrs. Avis Corcoran	Mrs. R. M. Hightower	
	Mrs. Kathleen Goettleman	Mrs. Letha Weaver	
	Mrs. Wilhelmina Barraclaugh	Mrs. Estalla Brumbaugh	
Clerks	Mrs. Jennie Dixon	Mrs. Mary Brusse	
	Mrs. Lela Zimmerman	Mrs. Agnes Goodrich	
DISTRICT "D"	•		
Judges	Geo. Sievert	Mrs. Blanche Culhane	
	Mrs. Vallie Boyes	Mrs. J. C. Mardis	
	Mrs. S. J. Johns	Mrs. Mamie Gibbs	

Clerks	Mrs. Violet Yarnell	Mrs. Bertha Shellenberger	
	Mrs. Faye Ellsberry	Mrs. Marie Nowlan	
DISTRICT "E"			
Judges	Mrs. J. S. Rutherford	Mrs. Alide Kupel	
	Mrs. Emily S. Ross	Mrs. Mary Anderson	
	Richard B. Williams	Mrs. Bessie Peters	
Clerks	Miss Marion Miller	Mrs. Leta Sykes	
	Miss Anna Berg	Mrs. Jane Palrang	

It was moved by Councilman Carson and seconded by Councilman Oates that the meeting adjourn. Motion carried.

/s/ Helen C. Tomlinson City Clerk