Grand Junction Commission on Arts and Culture Minutes January 26, 2000

Commissioners Present: Seth Brown Priscilla Mangnall

Beth Buys Peter Ivanov
LeRoy Donegan Bill Reidy
Jeanne Killgore Bill Whaley

Commissioners Absent: Karen Kiefer

Others Present: City Hall Art Selection Committee invitees: Tricia Berg, Don Meyers, LaVern Mosher, Janet Terry, Reford Theobold, and Kristin Winn.

The regular meeting of the Commission on Arts and Culture was held on the above date. The major purpose of the meeting was to review various proposals from Colorado artists and select three—five finalists, one of whom will be commissioned to complete an aerial art piece for the front entrance lobby of the new City Hall. Commission members, City Council members, local artists, and a City Hall representative spent the first twenty minutes of the meeting reading through copies of the fourteen proposals submitted following the "Call for Entries" for aerial artwork.

Chair Priscilla Mangnall called the meeting to order at 4:20pm. The Cultural Arts Coordinator showed slides submitted by the fourteen artists with their proposals for the next hour and a half. The artists' proposals, resumes, concept drawings, and slides were discussed in detail.

A show of hands vote was taken to select the finalists, with everyone voting for up to four artists. The results were as follows (price of artwork and number of completed public art projects in parentheses):

- 14 George Peters & Melanie Walker (Boulder) kinetic geometric fiber/fabric mobile (\$50,000) (30)
- 10 Bill & Clarissa Hudson (Pagosa Springs) several crystal bead curtain pictures (\$48,000) (6)
- 8 Susan Cooper (Englewood) painted pictures on steel bands with metal, glass (\$50,000) (17)
- 5 Barbara Baer (Denver) geometric forms in airbrushed plexiglass with metal (\$50,000) (15)
- 5 Clifton Barr (Ridgway) hammered polished brass aspen leaves (\$22,000+installation) (0)
- 4 Mettje Swift (Del Norte) kinetic geometric nylon mobile (\$50,000) (15)
- 2 Tim Upham (Ft. Collins) aluminum rivers with mirrors and copper (\$50,000)(2)
- 1 Joe Burleigh (Carbondale) horizontal steel poles in an arc (\$20,000) (0)
- 1 William Morrow & Fred Haberlein (Rifle) stainless steel petroglyph mobile (\$50,000) (5)
- o Jeff Bates (Fruita) welded steel flock of life-size geese (c. \$26,000) (o)
- o Thomas Baxter & Donna Aubert (Grand Jct) recycled steel children (\$8,500-\$12,000) (2)
- o Vanessa Clarke (Denver) abstract forms marble and metal mobile (\$47,500)(5)
- o Rafe Ropek (Berthoud) various possible styles and materials (\$50,000) (12)
- o William Vielehr (Boulder) rectangular textural cast aluminum (5)

After further discussion, the consensus of the committee was to select the three artists with the highest number of votes as finalists: George Peters and Melanie Walker, Bill and Clarissa Hudson, and Susan Cooper. It was decided to invite the finalists to present models of their proposed artwork at a meeting Monday, March 6, 4-6 p.m. Sarmo will discuss questions about adequate lighting with and provide copies of the artwork proposals to architect Pamela Blythe. Terry and Theobold recommended that Mark Relph or Jim Shanks receive a copy of the sandstone fountain by artist Tim Upham as an idea for the fountain being designed as part of the water feature in the front of the building.

A motion was made by Bill Reidy, seconded by Bill Whaley, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting held on December 1, 1999. The motion carried unanimously.

By consensus the Commission rescheduled their regular monthly meeting in March from March 22 to March 29, 2000, 4-6 p.m., because of absences due to the school district spring break. The major purpose of that meeting will be to select several pieces of three-dimensional artwork for the elevator atrium lobby of the new City Hall.

By consensus the Commission scheduled a meeting Monday, February 28, 2000, 4-6 p.m. The major purpose of this meeting will be to decide on arts and cultural events/project/program grant allocations for year 2000. The grant application presentations will be done at the regular meeting Wednesday, February 23. Whaley will check on the availability of the Colorado State Office Building conference room for the February 23 meeting. The February 28 meeting will be held as usual in the Parks office building conference room.

Plans were finalized for the Commission's January 27 reception honoring Dave Davis, recipient of the Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts.

A thank you letter for Commission financial support was read from the Mesa County Public Library for their ethnic theme programming. A thank you letter was read from several girls and the program coordinator of Miranda Place for the Commission's donation of tickets to the "Nutcracker" performance in December.

As there was no further business to come before the Commission, the chair declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Allison Cowan Sarmo Cultural Arts Coordinator